Dr. Neela Enke

Roles: Managing Director, Coach, mediator and trainer;
Background: Biology

Consulting fields: Career development, third-party fundraising, leadership and communication, conflict management, diversity and anti-discrimination training
Languages: German and English

Approach to coaching and training

What is important to me in my coaching, mediation, and training practice?
Ever more complex working conditions are increasingly preventing people from pursuing their passions. Coaching has allowed me to concentrate on challenges and tasks I enjoy and am interested in. This gives me time and energy to focus on the things I care about. Now I want to support others, not just researchers, in making this possible for themselves, and to help them strengthen their professionalism.

Biography

I am a coach, mediator, and biologist. I studied Biology in Marburg an der Lahn, where I also studied economics for several semesters. I received my doctorate at the Freie Universität Berlin. For ten years I was involved in various research projects, teaching, project management, and mentoring young researchers. I have held positions at various universities and research institutions in Germany, France, Croatia, Scotland, and the Czech Republic.

After completing further training in the areas of coaching, mediation, intercultural competence, diversity management, and systemic organizational development, I have been working as a freelance consultant for people at universities and research institutions since 2011. I am a member of the board of the Coachingnetz Wissenschaft, and I am actively involved in the Gender_Diversity professional association, the Federal Mediation Association, and the ProFil-Network, which aims to professionalize women in research and teaching.

Dr. Jonas Zimmerman

Role: Coach | currently on hiatus
Background: Biology

Consulting fields: Career development and leadership
Languages: German and English

Approach to coaching and training

What was my journey to coaching?
I dreamed of becoming a biologist since early childhood. During my time working as an individual and group coach at the Camphill Alt-Schönow facility for the disabled in Berlin, I realised how important it was to me to work with people from all walks of life. This experience was so inspiring I stayed in the role for two years following the conclusion of my civilian service. My studies in biology represented the almost complete fulfilment of my childhood dream, but due to the (self-imposed) pressure to perform, I repeatedly found myself coming up against my limits. This pressure, combined with the often precarious working conditions in research, almost made me lose joy in my passion. Coaching offered me possibilities and ways to take pleasure in my research again despite these challenges, and to develop myself. I would like to make this experience available to others, and promote a research culture in which more space is made for individual aptitudes.

Biography

I am a coach and biologist. I studied biology with minors in geology and palaeontology at the Freie Universität Berlin, where I also studied philosophy for several semesters. My doctorate (summa cum laude) at Justus Liebig University in Giessen was awarded two prizes. I have been working in research for more than ten years and have coordinated multiple research projects (e.g. DFG, BMBF, EU COST) at national, international, and EU levels.

I am currently head of the research group Diatoms at the Botanical Garden and Museum, Freie Universität Berlin. In addition to research, policy, and committee appointments, my day-to-day work includes supervising young researchers from all over the world. Since completing coaching training in 2011 (Coaching Spiral, Berlin, certified by the German Coaching Association DCV), I have also worked as a coach and facilitator. I am co-founder of Scienza Science Coaching.

Julia Baumeister

Roles: Voice coach, trainer
Background: Opera singer, Speech therapist

Consulting fields: Self presentation in research, public speaking and presentations, voice and body language, networking, conferences
Languages: German and English

Approach to coaching and training

What do I want to achieve as a coach?
Many people feel constrained and insecure during presentations. To convey our own qualities self-confidently requires practice and self-knowledge. On stage, I learned how important it is to be able to present myself professionally yet authentically. For me, authenticity is the interplay of voice, body, personality, and genuine enthusiasm for what you do. I am continually motivated to find this enthusiasm in my clients, and together find ways to reveal their strengths to the outside world without denying their weaknesses.

Biography

I am a certified opera singer, singing teacher, and state-certified speech therapist. After graduating from the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music, I worked as a freelance singer on the opera stage and concert podium for several years before successfully completing my training as a speech therapist at the Charité Berlin. During the course of further training I have expanded my specialist knowledge in pedagogy and psychology, concentration and communication training, and voice training methods. I have been working as a speech therapist with a focus on voice therapy since 2012.

At Scienza I conduct workshops and seminars that combine communication and self-presentation in a number of ways. Networking is one of my focal points, since coherent and authentic self-representation combined with professional communication plays a decisive role in building sustainable relationships.

Dr. Síofra McSherry

Role: Trainer
Background: Literature in English

Consulting fields: Writing, Work-Life Balance, Self Care, Career Development, German Academic Culture, Gender and Diversity
Languages: English

Approach to coaching and training

My approach to training and coaching has been shaped by my experiences in counselling and peer mentoring. These have helped me identify my own needs and values, and as a result, I have been better able to make satisfying personal and professional choices. This has led to greater freedom and meaning in everyday life. In my workshops I aim to support others in this process, helping participants get to know themselves better, develop their own voice and confidence though their interactions with the group, and begin to make choices more in line with their fundamental values.

Biography

Síofra McSherry has a PhD in American Studies from the Freie Universität Berlin. She graduated from Oxford University with a first in English and completed her MA at University College London. She has worked as a researcher and lecturer in Germany and the UK, with extensive experience delivering lectures, talks, seminars, and workshops to international audiences. She has participated in leadership training programmes through the Fulbright Commission UK and the Getty Centre in Los Angeles. Her international experience includes organizing conferences and events, managing research projects, and writing grant applications. Dr. McSherry completed a counselling qualification at the University of London and has a broad range of experience in peer-to-peer counselling and coaching. Her writing has appeared in international venues including The Salt Book of Younger Poets and Poetry Wales.

Workshop Themes

  • Writing: Planning and Motivation
  • Me and My Supervisor
  • Navigating the German Academy for International Researchers
  • Stress Management and Resilience
  • Work-Life Balance
  • Gender and Diversity

Herr Neumann

Role: Assistant to the manager
Background: Foreign language correspondent

Activities: Initial consultations, office management, administration
Languages: German and English

Introduction

When you contact Scienza Science Coaching, I’m often the first person you speak to. In addition to administration, some of my main tasks are to answer your questions, provide you with information, and answer your emails and phone calls.

Biography

I trained as a foreign language correspondent. Since I feel more comfortable in a working environment in which co-operation rather than competition is emphasised, I have mostly worked for associations and similar organizations before ending up at Scienza.

Dr. Neela Enke

Funktion: Coach, Mediatorin & Trainerin; Geschäftsführung
Qualifikation: Biologin

Beratungsfelder: Karriereentwicklung, Drittmittelakquise, Führung & Kommunikation, Konfliktmanagement, Diversität und Antidiskriminierung
Beratungssprachen: deutsch & englisch

Selbstverständnis als Coach/Trainer*in

Was ist mir wichtig in Coaching, Mediation, Training? Komplexer werdende Arbeitsstrukturen halten Menschen zunehmend auf, ihrer Passion nachzugehen. Coaching hat mir ermöglicht, mich auf Herausforderungen und Aufgaben zu konzentrieren, die mir Spaß machen und an denen ich Interesse habe. Dies gibt mir Zeit und Leichtigkeit, die Dinge zu tun, die mir am Herzen liegen. Nun möchte ich andere Menschen, nicht nur Wissenschaftler*innen, dabei unterstützen, dies für sich selbst zu ermöglichen und sie in ihrer Professionalität zu stärken.

Biographisches:

Ich bin Coach, Mediatorin und promovierte Biologin. Mein Studium der Biologie absolvierte ich in Marburg an der Lahn, wo ich auch einige Semester VWL studiert habe. Promoviert habe ich an der Freien Universität Berlin. Ich habe 10 Jahre verschiedene Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt, war im Lehrbetrieb, der Projektkoordinierung und Nachwuchsförderung eingebunden. Ich habe an verschiedenen Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland, Frankreich, Kroatien, Schottland und Tschechien gearbeitet und geforscht.
Nach Weiterbildungen im Bereich Bereichen Coaching, Mediation interkulturelle Kompetenz und Diversity Management sowie systemische Organisationsentwicklung arbeite ich seit 2011 freiberuflich als Beraterin für Menschen an Universitäten und Forschungsinstitutionen. Ich bin u.a. als Vorstandsmitglied im Coachingnetz Wissenschaft tätig. Ich engagiere mich aktiv im Fachverband Gender_Diversity, im Bundesverband Mediation sowie im ProFiL-Netzwerkverein, der die Professionalisierung für Frauen in Forschung & Lehre zum Ziel hat.

Dr. Jonas Zimmermann

Funktion: Coach | zur Zeit pausierend
Qualifikation: Biologe

Beratungsfelder: Karriereentwicklung & Führung
Beratungssprachen: deutsch & englisch

Selbstverständnis als Coach/Trainer*in

Mein Weg zum Coaching? Schon seit frühester Kindheit hatte ich den Traum Biologe zu werden. Als ich dann im Zivildienst als Einzel- und Gruppenbetreuer in der Behinderteneinrichtung Camphill Alt-Schönow in Berlin arbeitete, wurde mir klar, wie wichtig mir auch die Arbeit mit Menschen in allen Lebenslagen ist. Diese Arbeit begeisterte mich so sehr, dass ich nach dem Zivildienst noch zwei Jahre dabei blieb. Das folgende Biologiestudium war die fast vollständige Erfüllung des oben genannten Traums, ausgelöst aber durch den (selbstgesetzten) Leistungsdruck, stieß ich immer wieder an Grenzen. Dieser Druck und die oft prekären Verhältnisse an universitären Einrichtungen ließen mich fast den Spaß an meiner Passion verlieren. Coaching bot mir Wege und Möglichkeiten, trotz dieser Herausforderungen wieder mit Lust zu forschen und mich dabei zu entfalten. Diese Erfahrung möchte ich gerne auch anderen ermöglichen und eine Forschungskultur fördern, in der individuellen Fähigkeiten mehr Raum zugestanden wird.

Biographisches:

Ich bin Coach und promovierter Biologe. Mein Studium der Biologie (Nebenfächer Geologie/Paläontologie) absolvierte ich an der Freien Universität Berlin, wo ich auch einige Semester Philosophie studiert habe. Meine Promotion (summa cum laude) an der Justus-Liebig-Universität in Gießen wurde mit zwei Preisen ausgezeichnet. Seit mehr als 10 Jahren arbeite ich in der Forschung und arbeite in und koordiniere verschiedenen Forschungsprojekte (z.B. DFG, BMBF, EU COST) auf nationaler, internationaler und EU-Ebene.
Ich arbeite derzeit als Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Diatomeen am Botanischen Garten und Botanischen Museum, Freie Universität Berlin. Neben der Forschung, Wissenschaftspolitik und Gremienarbeit gehört zu meinem Arbeitsalltag die Betreuung von Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen aus aller Welt. Seit einer Coaching-Ausbildung im Jahr 2011 (Coaching-Spirale, Berlin; Ausbildung zertifiziert durch den Deutschen Coaching Verband DCV) arbeite ich auch als Coach und Moderator. Ich bin Mitbegründer von Scienza Science Coaching.

Julia Baumeister

Funktion: Stimm-Coach, Trainerin
Qualifikation: Diplom-Opernsängerin, Logopädin

Beratungsfelder: Selbstpräsentation in der Wissenschaft, Präsentationen & Konferenzbesuche, Stimme und Körpersprache, Netzwerken
Beratungssprachen: deutsch & englisch

Selbstverständnis als Coach/Trainer*in

Was möchte ich erreichen als Coach?
Viele Menschen fühlen sich in Präsentationen eingeschränkt und unsicher, denn die eigenen Qualitäten selbstbewusst vorzutragen verlangt Übung und Selbstkenntnis. Auf der Bühne habe ich gelernt, wie wichtig es ist, sich professionell und dennoch authentisch präsentieren zu können. Für mich ist Authentizität das Zusammenspiel aus Stimme, Körper, Persönlichkeit und echter Begeisterung für das, was man tut. Diese Begeisterung in meinen Klient*innen zu finden, und gemeinsam Möglichkeiten zu suchen, wie sie ihre Stärken nach außen zeigen können ohne Schwächen zu verleugnen, treibt mich immer wieder aufs Neue an.

Biographisches:

Ich bin diplomierte Opernsängerin, Gesangspädagogin und staatlich geprüfte Logopädin. Nach dem Abschluss an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ habe ich einige Jahre als freischaffende Sängerin auf Opernbühne und Konzertpodium Bühnenerfahrungen gesammelt, bevor ich an der Charité Berlin die Ausbildung zur Logopädin sehr erfolgreich abschloss. Durch Fortbildungen erweiterte ich mein Fachwissen schon innerhalb der Ausbildung in Richtung Lernmethodik und -psychologie, Konzentrationstraining und Methoden des Stimmtrainings sowie Kommunikationstraining.

Seit 2012 arbeite ich zusätzlich als Logopädin mit dem Schwerpunkt Stimmtherapie.
Bei Scienza führe ich Workshops und Seminare durch, die Kommunikation und Selbstpräsentation in unterschiedlicher Gewichtung verknüpfen. Auch Netzwerken gehört zu meinen Schwerpunkten, denn hier spielt eine kohärente und authentische Selbstpräsentation in Verbindung mit professioneller Kommunikation eine entscheidende Rolle zum Aufbau tragfähiger Beziehungen.

Dr. Síofra McSherry

Funktion: Trainerin
Qualifikation: Literaturwissenschaftlerin (Amerikanistik)

Beratungsfelder: Life-Balance, Self Care and Resilience, PhD Supervision, Career Development, German Academic Culture
Beratungssprachen: englisch

Selbstverständnis als Coach/Trainer*in

Meine Trainings- und Coachingpraxis ist geprägt von eigenen Beratungserfahrungen in Workshops und kollegialer Beratung. Ich habe so meine eigenen Bedürfnisse und Werte identifiziert und konnte auf dieser Basis professionelle und persönliche Entscheidungen treffen, die mich sehr zufrieden machen. Ich erlebe so Freiheit und Sinn in meinem Alltag. In meinen Coachings und Trainings unterstütze ich andere Menschen in diesem Prozess, indem ich sie ermutige, ihre eigene Stimme und ihre eigenen Stärken zu finden und sich auszuprobieren. So können meine Klient*innen Entscheidungen treffen, die sich im Einklang mit ihren zentralen Werten befinden.

Biographisches:

Ich habe an der Freien Universität Berlin in Amerikanistik promoviert. Studiert habe ich Englisch an der Oxford University und dem University College London. Ich habe sowohl in Deutschland als auch in Großbritannien geforscht und gelehrt. Ich habe internationale Forschungsprojekte gemanagt, Konferenzen und Events organisiert sowie erfolgreich Drittmittel eingeworben. Auch habe ich eine große Bandbreite an Vorlesungen, Talks, Seminaren und Workshops für ein internationales Publikum durchgeführt; ein Schwerpunkt meiner Beratungspraxis ist die Arbeit mit internationalen Forscher*innen in Deutschland. Ich habe an Führungsprogrammen der Fulbright Commission UK sowie dem Getty Centre in Los Angeles teilgenommen. Meine Beratungsausbildung habe ich an der University of London abgeschlossen und viel Erfahrung mit kollegialer Beratung und Einzelcoaching gesammelt. Als Autorin habe ich international publiziert; unter anderem in The Salt Book of Younger Poets und Poetry Wales.

Herr Neumann

Funktion: Assistenz der Geschäftsleitung
Qualifikation: Fremdsprachenkorrespondent

Aufgabenfelder: Erstberatung, Büromanagement, Verwaltung
Sprachen: deutsch & englisch

Selbstverständnis:

Bei Kontaktaufnahme mit Scienza Science Coaching bin ich oft der erste Ansprechpartner. Neben der Verwaltung gehört es zu meinen Aufgaben Ihnen für Fragen und Informationen zur Verfügung zu stehen und Ihre Mails und Anrufe entgegen zu nehmen.

Biographisches:

Ich habe eine Ausbildung zum Fremdsprachenkorrespondenten absolviert. Da ich mich in einem Arbeitsumfeld wohler fühle wo das Miteinander und nicht die Konkurrenz im Mittelpunkt stehen habe ich bisher in der Regel für Vereine und ähnliche Organisationen gearbeitet und bin nun bei Scienza gelandet.